Unit 3: Investigating Storytelling

Activity 1: The Medium is the Message

Overview

In this activity you will review a variety of listening strategies and use them to listen to a podcast. You will use a series of questions designed to help you explore the information and ideas in the podcast and the idea of a media text as a construct: (e.g., use of sound, music, the narrator’s voice and tone to elicit a response from the listener). You will explore the medium of the podcast and write a blog post (with the option to submit an audio post) with your response to the podcast. Finally, you will reflect on your use of listening strategies and how the act of listening differs from reading.

Learning Goals

By the end of this activity you will be able to:

  • Use a variety of listening strategies to understand information and ideas, as well as how the conventions of an audio text create meaning;
  • Distinguish the differences between podcasts and blogs;
  • Analyze the perspectives present in an audio text;
  • Reflect on the differences between listening and reading.

Success Criteria

I’ll know I am successful when:

  • I can name specific listening strategies and explain how they can help me understand an audio text;
  • I can name the conventions of an audio text and explain how they create meaning;
  • I can use my prior knowledge of the conventions, purpose, and audience of blogs to draw a comparison to podcasts;
  • I can identify perspectives and describe the beliefs and values that appear to be present based on what I’ve heard;
  • I can identify the skills and behaviours required when listening and compare those to reading.

Expectation: Completed in two class periods.

Google docs

Onenote Notebook: Journal section

Transcript for Janna Levin’s story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *